Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Understanding the Merit Badge Requirements for Eagle Scout Rank

The Eagle Scout rank is the highest achievement attainable in the Scouts BSA program of the Boy Scouts of America. Earning this rank involves a lengthy and dedicated journey, with one of the primary requirements being the accumulation of merit badges. In this post, we’ll detail the merit badge requirements for Eagle Scout as of 2023.

To earn the Eagle Scout rank, a Scout must accumulate at least 21 merit badges. The beauty of the merit badge system lies in its combination of compulsory and optional badges, promoting a balanced blend of fundamental skills and personal interests. Of the 21 badges required, 14 must come from a specific list of Eagle-required merit badges, while the remaining 7 can be chosen based on the Scout’s interests from over a hundred options​1​.

The list of Eagle-required merit badges is designed to ensure that an Eagle Scout is well-rounded and experienced in a variety of disciplines. These badges promote concepts around citizenship, family, personal responsibility, preparedness, physical fitness, and outdoors skills​1

As of 2023, the following badges are required:

  1. First Aid
  2. Citizenship in the Community
  3. Citizenship in the Nation
  4. Citizenship in Society
  5. Citizenship in the World
  6. Communication
  7. Cooking
  8. Personal Fitness
  9. Personal Management
  10. Camping
  11. Family Life

For the final three required badges, Scouts have the opportunity to choose one badge from each of the following three groups:

  1. Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving
  2. Environmental Science or Sustainability
  3. Swimming, Hiking, or Cycling

If a Scout earns more than one badge from a group where they need to choose one, they can count one of them as a required merit badge and the other can be counted as one of the remaining badges needed to reach 21 total​1.

While 21 is the minimum number of merit badges required for the Eagle Scout rank, there is no maximum limit. Scouts are encouraged to earn as many merit badges as they wish, exploring new areas of interest and expanding their skills.

The journey to earning the Eagle Scout rank is a fulfilling one, filled with learning, growth, and the development of a wide array of skills. The merit badge system is a key part of this journey, promoting not only the acquisition of essential life skills but also allowing Scouts to explore their personal interests.

© 2024 BSA Troop 604B - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin
© 2024 BSA Troop 604B - Boy Scouts of America
WordPress Admin